Six Word Saturday: Marmalade


Six Word Saturday:

I feel like a domestic goddess.marmalade

Long term readers may remember my first attempt at making jam a couple of years ago, it turned out completely solid and un-worthy of eating to much disappointment of myself and my other half.

Now that we are back in Australia and within spitting distance of our country orchard, jamming fruit is a little easier (and cheaper) to come by. I have to admit that my first attempt at making marmalade a couple of months ago was a complete disaster – overcooked and toffee like again, I was tempted to turn it into truffles but didn’t have time with Christmas and whatnot. I now understand more about cooking jam, setting points, the role of pectin and this latest batch has actually converted me from a marmalade hater to being at least willing to sample it.

Although it is made from different fruit, I followed the directions of this recipe from the River Cottage handbook exactly and it turned out great. I have to say though, that next time I will use larger fruit that aren’t so fiddly!

Happy Saturday everyone!

6ws-participating-in-banner1

39 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday: Marmalade

  1. Do you get Jaffa oranges in Oz? Their bitterness makes a lovely marmalade. If you can’t have Jaffa, try a mixture of grapefruit and sweet orange. The temperature is critical, once you’ve put in the sugar: I use my Mum’s old sugar thermometer in Farenheit and it is vital to take the pan off the heat as soon as the contents reach 225 degrees. Leave it on any longer and you get that almost-toffee consistency. And you need to be precise in the amount of water. I warm the sugar before adding it to the cooked fruit.

    I must have made thousands of jars of marmalade in my time, and only once did I get the dark thick result, and that was because the phone rang at the critical moment!

  2. Yay! Glad you have gotten the knack of it! I have never ever tried! When I was a child growing up in California we had some grape vines and my mama made grape jelly. But I have never had the desire to do it myself, since there are so many choices on the grocery shelf!

    Happy Saturday!

  3. Oh your blog today reminds me of my past: pleasant hours making quince jelly (because my grandparents’ farm had quinces) and pomegranate jelly (same reason) Can you even imagine what a mess the red from the squeezed pomegranates did???

  4. I rarely eat jam as the amount of sugar it contains does bad things to my digestive system (LOR) but I do love a nice marmalade and make some each year from my ambiguous citrus tree. I say ambiguous as although the label said ‘Lime’ when I planted it, it seems to be a cross between an orange and a lemon tree. When the fruit is very ripe, I can eat it like I would an orange although it is very tart. The resultant marmalade is great as gifts when I go to dinner at someone’s house, etc.

    I also love lemon butter (again too much sugar) and have my grandmother’s recipe that I use for that. As gifts, that is very popular. Sometimes, it is worth putting up with the side-effects and coughing and spluttering that I go through just to have some on toast.

    • Ah yes, jams are pretty much just sugar so not good for anyone really. I’m glad you enjoy your marmalades and lemon butter occasionally. I loooove lemon butter on toast but I’ve never made it myself. Your tree sounds interesting, is it green inside like a lime?

What do you think? Please leave a Reply

